Alive and Well

Hiya!

It’s been a minute hasn’t it? I promise I’ve not died or fallen off the face of the earth, but I do think I should explain my extended absence.

Basically, when I started this blog I was enrolled in an online class through my home university that required me to post weekly blogs as my homework. When I was on that schedule with those clear expectations, it was easy to generate posts and keep this blog regularly running. But the problem with that was that I was posting less because I wanted to and more because I had to. That’s not really what I wanted this to be at all. Then when that class ended, a combination of things happened. I had a heavier and more demanding course load thusΒ a lot less free time, which resulted in a lot less traveling and a lot less “fun stuff” going on. What free time I did have I dedicated to getting back on track with my health and fitness (4 months of Strongbow Dark Fruit and Nando’s caught up to me fast). I felt like I didn’t have much to write about since my everyday was basically school, gym, TV, sleep, repeat. Now, that’s not to say I didn’t do anything fun at all during that time. I became an avid and frequent hiker, joined some societies at my uni, took advantage of my proximity to London, splurged forΒ my dream trip, and had lots of visitors from home. It’s been a very busy few months for me, and I’ve honestly just been enjoying myself.

So now that you know why I’ve been away, I guess I should explain why I’ve decided to come back. It would have been very easy for me to just abandon this blog altogether and just keep neglecting it as I have been. Honestly, I thought about doing just that. But I’ve got less than a month left of this experience, and the nostalgia is hitting me hard. Going back and revisiting the past several months seems like a nice way to relive the experiences I’ve had and will provide me with something to look back on when this is all over. I’m also more aware of the fact that as my adventure is coming to an end, a new batch of abroaders are preparing for their turn. If they’re anything like I was this time last year, then they’re slightly clueless and mildly panicked.

So that’s what this blog will be about now. I’ll write about my past trips to fuel my own nostalgia, but instead of just recapping I’ll format the posts in a way that may benefit others looking to travel to the same places. I’ve learned a lot in my time abroad and have had to figure out how to manage on my own. I’ve shared my tips with some friends, but I think I’ll take what I’ve learned and turn it into posts. That way, maybe another confused/nervous girl in the shoes that I was in this time last year will find these tips and not feel so overwhelmed anymore. Really, that’s all I can hope for.

Lets dive in shall we?

xx,

Ashley

Leave a Reply

